Learn about


Learn about IT

UNESCO – ITALY: The Country with the most World Heritage sites

Share this

World Heritage sites are designated by UNESCO in order to preserve and safeguard cultural and natural heritage worldwide. Italy holds the first place in this prestigious field with 58, both natural and cultural, recognised UNESCO World Heritage sites. On his meeting in July 2021 the World Heritage Committee added three Italian sites: the Porticos of Bologna, Montecatini Terme, known for its thermal waters, and Padua’s fourteenth-century fresco cycles.

Italy is a country of history. All roads lead to Rome, home to the iconic Colosseum, but the magnificence of the Roman Empire’s architecture is also admirable in the flamboyant Villa Adriana in Tivoli or in the beautiful Pompei, unmatched city in the way it represents ancient daily life. Florence, Siena or Ferrara, among others, have instead an extraordinary relevance in Italian Renaissance.

And Italian nature, of course, has also UNESCO World Heritage status with 5 sites recognised, including the Dolomites, worldwide renowned for breathtaking views, and Mount Etna, one of the most active volcanoes in the world which is also of great scientific and cultural interest.

In addition, Italy has also a unique intangible cultural heritage that profoundly characterises it culturally and socially. The traditional violin craftsmanship in Cremona, the Pupi Siciliani, a Sicilian puppet theatre representation, and the art of Neapolitan pizzaiuolo are just a few exquisite examples of Italian creativity.

You can learn more about Italy’s World Heritage sites on the official website of Unesco.

Learn more


More Stories

Top Italian Company Leonardo joins South Australian Space Ecosystem

Moto Guzzi celebrates 100 years of tradition, style and performance

How an Italian-built Australian satellite will deliver the world cosmic fireworks!